Why do my textures import into 3DS Max blurry?

I’m fairly new to 3d modelling and am trying to suss my way through a workflow. I’ve a read a lot about this issue when a texture is imported to a 3D modelling app, it may decide to display that texture in a variety of ways (AA on/off, mipmapping, filters. etc) and that many of them will cause a Qubicle texture to look blurry.

I’m having that problem in 3DS Max and have tried the few things I’ve found online about how to deal with it. None of the things i found were about Qubicle specifically and none of them felt exaclty like what I was dealing with…

…but basically, I export a simple Qubicle model to .obj file. I don’t change any of the defaults on that action. I import into 3ds Max, again not changing defaults and I end up with a blurry texture in the Viewfinder. I think I’ve done everything that can be done in 3DSMax to tell it to display that texture at highest quality in the Viewfinder (configure viewfinder settings, etc) and nothing has changed it from being blurry.

Oh, and I think this is a telling fact (though I’m not 100% sure): the texture is also blurry when i render.

Does anyone with experience in Qub->Max have any suggestions for what I should try next?

Does this thread provide some help/ideas?

So , that thread you linked to didn’t do the trick but ironically, another post by you had the answer. In your post about unknown/underused functions of Qubicle you mention turning off optimization when you export. That solved the problem fro me. Now the color maps that I made in Qubicle import into 3ds Max without any kind of blending between the colors. Thanks